Hello world!

30 Jan

Hi World!!!!! This is my first ever blog and I must say that I’m truly excited!

I am a sophomore at Grambling State University with a major in Marketing and a minor in Mass Communication with a concentration in Public Relations. This blog is actually a project for my Introduction to Mass Communication class. When the project was first presented to me I will admit that I was a bit skeptical. My first thought was, “What should I blog about?”. Then I raised my hand and asked, “Can I just blog about my everyday life?”. Mr. Kim, my professor, responded with a not so enthusiastic tone, “What’s so interesting about your life?” (OKKKKKKK :S ). So after having some time to think about it I decided that I could turn my passion for shopping and fashion into something equally therapeutic and economical!

I love clothes, shoes, make-up and I admire someone who takes time in their appearance. I believe that you could make a simple outfit look sexy and classy by just adding a few accessories and, sometimes, on the other end of the spectrum….less is more.

Stay logged in for my daily blogs on trends, what not to wear and unique outfits that I consider “Hit or Miss?!” Your opinions and ideas are also welcomed so feel free to comment!

 

 

DISCLAIMER: I am not by any means a fashionista/fashion designer/stylist but I do have a great sense of style and I appreciate all forms of personal style.

13 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. EDL January 31, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    Great stuff…I like it.

  2. Chrissie January 31, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Very Interesting!!!! I applaud your effort, you go girl

  3. Eps January 31, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    C’est ca mem! Look I have to go on charls blog to dress properly 😀

  4. aquafina January 31, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    Love this! i can’t wait to get some of your fashion tips for the spring…i’m not an animal print kinda girl but it’s been out there lately and i wanna try it..wat’s your input?

    • CharleneJCorbette January 31, 2011 at 12:58 am #

      In this case less is more especially since you’re not fond of that trend. Try something simple like leopard print accessories with an all black outfit, or a bag with a similar print. Never overdo it. Leopard shoes, bag, belt and top is a fashion No-No!

      • aquafina February 1, 2011 at 2:45 am #

        thanks girl!

  5. najums January 31, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    Wooohooo!!!!! Can’t wait Sparkles…you are now in your element…All the best and I look forward to the hot tips!!!

  6. Put something January 31, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    Are you gonna have fashion tips for guys too or is this a woman’s only blog….and please expand on your “Less is More” theory…sounds very interesting…

    • CharleneJCorbette January 31, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      No…my fashion tips will not be limited to just women’s fashion. So stay tuned!

      “Less is more”- it is important to know how to balance accessories, make-up and hair styles. Doing too much sometimes distracts from the real beauty or style of the outfit. For example, wearing a necklace with a halter is unnecessary because, besides being uncomfortable, the shape of the straps already draw attention to your chest and face, doing what a necklace is intented to do.

  7. Babi Boo January 31, 2011 at 2:18 am #

    Aye aye budddyyy I find you come out eh….want to be telling people what to wear lol…hahha but you know your girl lovveeeee it….

    And all the best in your intro to mass comm class proj….going good so far….

  8. Misya February 1, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Charls pretty impressive!!!! You are so right, you love clothes, shoes, and make-up. Let me add…your make up is always flawless. Do your thing girl!!! Remember YOU CAME TO WIN!!!!!!

  9. Marisa S. Carter February 1, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    YESSSAAIIIII… is yellow the new pink?

  10. AYo February 6, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    You go GIRL! I will be reading evryone!

Leave a Reply

